Plotting Xively timeseries data using Rickshaw

Xively (formerly Cosm, formerly Patchube) now has a Javascript library for their API. I have been meaning to learn the Rickshaw library for awhile as it comes highly recommend from several people. It turned out to be a doddle to use. I just mixed in the moment.js library to do some date munging and was able to knock up some graphs in an hour or so.

Air Quality Egg

AirQualityEgg NO2 data

AirQualityEgg NO2 data

Current cost electricity usage

 

Current cost electricity data

Current cost electricity data

These two data source aren’t pumping out data anymore but you can see an example here.

 

The code

The code is also on github.

8 thoughts on “Plotting Xively timeseries data using Rickshaw

  1. Hey Jason,

    I am new to Xively data retrieval and I am still trying to get my head around it. However I can’t seem to view the live versions of your graphs. Am I missing something?

    Cheers
    Marty

  2. Hi Jason,
    xively-rickshaw is awesome stuff. I am plan to use for historical data for my RPi weather station project.

    Question: Line Graph chart seem to show 0 at minimum, even if the minimal data point is 30 (for example). Is there a way to set chart minimum other than 0?

    Best,
    Jay

    • Here is example of what I was referring to: http://mygardenspy.com/historical.html

      Also, if there is a certain credit/link you would like on my page (since I heavily used your xively-rickshaw I am happy to do so.)

      Another oddity I noticed is if I do a pull at the interval for 3 months or 1 year I just get a graph spanning the time data points exist, just at the smaller sample size. Might be nice to represent the entire duration in the x-axis. Perhaps such a way exists, I just need to look closer at my setup. Maybe this also becomes a non-issue when my data set actually spans the time of the historical queries (which it does not yet.)

Leave a Reply

